The Minister of Home Affairs, during a press release on 30 September 2020, released a list of countries from which leisure travellers will not be allowed into South Africa upon the reopening of borders and ports of entry for international travellers following South Africa’s move to Alert Level 1 of the national lockdown.
Leisure travellers from the following countries, amongst other 60 (sixty) countries (link to full list of countries at end of article), will not be allowed entry to South Africa:

  • Belgium;
  • Denmark;
  • France;
  • India;
  • Ireland;
  • Luxembourg;
  • Malta;
  • Netherlands;
  • United Emirates;
  • United Kingdom; and
  • United States of America.

It must be emphasised that the individuals who are not allowed entry from the high-risk countries are leisure travellers only. The exception for travellers to South Africa from the list of 60 countries are business travellers with scarce and critical skills, which include repatriated persons, investors, individuals participating in professional sporting and cultural events and diplomats.
Business travellers above may from 1 October 2020, in writing, apply to the Minister of Home Affairs and furnish reasons for their request to enter South Africa during Alert Level 1. Such applications must be emailed to “” and supported with the following documents:

  1. Copy of a passport and/or temporary residence visa;
  2. ​Proof of business activities to be undertaken in South Africa;
  3. Proof of travel itinerary; and
  4. Proof of address or accommodation in South Africa.

All travellers to South Africa must wear their masks at all times, practise social distancing in public spaces, wash or sanitise their hands regularly and present a negative COVID-19 test result not older than 72 (seventy-two) hours from the time of departure of their foreign country.
Should a traveller present any COVID-19-related symptoms or have been in contact with an infected person(s), they must take a compulsory COVID-19 test which test will be at the traveller’s own expense. Should the test come back positive, the traveller will be subjected to a 10 (ten) day quarantine at a designated site, and accommodation costs at such site will be at the traveller’s own expense.
Please click on the following link to the Department of Home Affairs’ website for a full list of countries where leisure travellers are banned from entering South Africa:
The above list will be reviewed every 14 (fourteen) days.
Author: Blaine Saunders